Governing Council » Governing Council

Governing Council

South Valley Academy's Governing Council is currently composed of seven members of the community. The powers of the Governing Council include approving the school’s annual budget, making broad policy as outlined by South Valley Academy’s charter, approving charter amendments, approving school plans and handbooks created by Staff Council, and hiring and evaluating the Executive Director. It uses the consensus model for decision-making.

The Council meets in the SVA Main Office on the third Tuesday of each month at 5:15 p.m. Each meeting consists of a public comment portion and a closed session for discussion of internal business. Parents, students, and community members are welcome to attend and participate in the public comment portion of each meeting. During the open session, school events and concerns are discussed. Feedback from present guests is welcome. Please note that all questions and discussion will be recorded in the meeting's official minutes. A final version of the approved minutes will be made available to the public in digital form on this site or in paper form at our main office after each meeting.

NOTE: All currently scheduled Governing Council meetings will be held by video conference until further notice. Public portions of the meetings will available by Google Meet for those who wish to participate. All public sessions will be recorded and made available for later viewing on our website.

Members

Laura Sanchez, President
lsanchez@southvalleyacademy.org

Carla Nieto, Vice President
cnieto@southvalleyacademy.org

Claudia Cano, Member
ccano@southvalleyacademy.org

Paola Castillo, Member
pcastillo@southvalleyacademy.org

Alejandro Mendiaz Rivera, Member
amendiaz@southvalleyacademy.org

Adriana Mendiaz Coronado, Member
admendiaz@southvalleyacademy.org

Dawn Stracener, Member
dstracener@southvalleyacademy.org

To contact the Governing Council as a whole, email gc@southvalleyacademy.org.

2020-2021 Meeting Schedule
All meetings are held via Google Meet at 5:15 p.m. unless specified below.

Date Link to Meeting: posted day of
October 20, 2020  
November 17, 2020  
December 15, 2020  
January 19, 2021  
February 16, 2021  
March 16, 2021  
April 20, 2020  
May 18, 2020  
June 15, 2020  


Recorded meetings are available in the GC Video Archive.

GC meeting agenda & archived minutes available here.